top of page
  • Writer's pictureMikee Gungon

Fresh Formula Blemish Rescue Series | Review

Updated: Nov 5, 2020



I am baaack!


It took a while for me to gather all my thoughts for this review. Skincare sets take a while to take effect you see. It has been two months for me with this local skincare series so take a seat and read on.


This is my Fresh Formula Blemish Rescue Series review!



The Blemish Rescue Series consists of FOUR products:

  1. SKIN DOCTOR - acne defense facial wash

  2. BLEMISH DOCTOR - anti-acne facial toner

  3. DOCTOR BLUR - oxygenated day cream

  4. DOCTOR CLEAR - overnight repair cream


All of which are sold separately but you can get it as a set for the regular price of Php 999.00. Watch out for the discounted 11.11 sale price of Php 699.00!


Get them online from Lazada, BeautyMNL, or Shopee.



What makes this series good for preventing acne? The actives!



AWESOME ACTIVES

Indian Soap Berry, Wintergreen, Willowbark, Tea Tree, Witch Hazel, Niacinamide, AHA: (Lactic acid & Glycolic acid), Vitamin C, Hyaluronic Acid, Vitamin E, Collagen, Elastin, CoQ10, Beta Glucan, Vitamin A, Algae Extract


Texture shot of the Fresh Formula Rescue Series.
#TextureTuesdayShot of Blemish Rescue Series.

This is my second try for a local skincare set. My first one was from Beauty Bakery which has similar ingredients like Witch Hazel and Tea Tree. You just gotta support our local brands for putting effort and coming up with our own products.


Take a good look at each product and its ingredients.



SKIN DOCTOR

acne defense facial wash



SKIN HABIT

Massage thoroughly onto wet skin using circular motions. Rinse well. Use twice daily, morning and night.


THE FORMULA

Water, decyl glucoside, glycerin, zinc lactate, Sapindus mokurossi (Indian Soap Berry), Gaultheria procumbens (Wintergreen) Leaf Extract, Willow Bark Extract, xanthan gum, Melaleuca alternifolia (tea tree) leaf essential oil, sodium caproyl/lauroyl lacytate, Allantoin, Menthyl lactate.



BLEMISH DOCTOR

anti-acne facial toner



SKIN HABIT

Saturate a cotton pad, swipe onto clean skin over the face and neck. Use twice daily, morning and night. Avoid eye area.


THE FORMULA

Water, Ethyl Alcohol, Propylene Glycol, Hamamelis Virginiana (Witch Hazel) extract, Niacinamide, Triethanolamine, Octylmethoxycinnamate, Lactic Acid, Glycolic Acid, PEG-40 Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Allantoin, EDTA, Crosspolymer, Ascorbic Acid, Hydrogenated Lecithin, Citric Acid, Glutathione, Diazolidinyl Urea, Phenoxyethanol, Milk Peptide Complex, Sodium Hyaluronate.


FYI

This product may increase your skin's sensitivity to the sun. Make sure to use sunscreen and limit your sun exposure.



DOCTOR BLUR

oxygenated day cream SPF 45



SKIN HABIT

Apply generously onto clean skin. Reapply as needed.


THE FORMULA

Water, Octyl methoxycinnamate, Dioctyl Adipate, Propylene Glycol, 1 ,2 Propylene Glycol USP, Niacinamide, Hydrolyzed Collagen, Hydrolyzed Elastin, benzophenone 3, Benzophenone 4, Cetyl Alcohol, Stearic Acid, Panthenol (and) Propylene Glycol, Tocopherol, Potassium Cetyl Phosphate, Cetyl Palmitate, Zinc Oxide (and) Dimethicone, Castor (Ricinus Communis) Oil, Octyl Stearate, Phenylbenzimidazole Sulfonic Acid, Triethanolamine, Carbomer, Acrylates/C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate, Disodium EDTA.



DOCTOR CLEAR

overnight repair cream



SKIN HABIT

Apply ample amount onto clean skin before bedtime. Avoid eye area.


THE FORMULA

Water, C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate, Phenyl Trimethicone, Glycerin, Sodium Polyacrylate, C18-21 Alkane, Butyrospermum parkii (Shea Butter), Trideceth 6, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Niacinamide, Undaria Pinnatifida Extract, Tapioca Starch Polymethylsilsequioxane, Co-enzyme Q10, Evodia Rutaecarpa Fruit Extract, Yeast Beta-Glucan, Beta Glucan, Hydrogenated Soybean Oil, [H]ydroyzed Elastin, Hydrolyzed Collagen, PEG-40 Hydrogenated [C]astor Oil, Ammonium Acryloyldimethyltaurate/VP Copolymer, [So]dium Lactate, Sodium Gluconate, Sodium PCA, Urea, Trehalose, Polyquaternium-51, Sodium Hyaluronate, Cyclomethicone, Polyquaternium-51, Sodium Hyaluronate, Cyclomethicone, [Pr]opylene Glycol, Lecithin, Disodium Phosphate, Retinyl, Acetate, Tocopherol (Vitamin E), Arbutin, Citric Acid, Ascorbic Acid (Vitamin C), Ascorbyl Palmitate, Ethylhexylglycerin, Tetrasodium EDTA, Magnesium Gluconate.


FYI

This product may increase your skin's sensitivity to the sun. Make sure to use sunscreen and limit your sun exposure. This product is not suitable for pregnant and lactating women.




HOW DID IT GO?


I learned from my previous skincare reviews to take it easy on my face. So what I did for this series is that I started to use them one by one, with a week in between. I did not use them all at once so my skin can adjust to the new products, especially for this set with acids.


FIRST IMPRESSIONS


The set smells so nice! It's has a light, powdery scent. Each product has an expiration date printed on the packaging. The ingredients are also listed. They are not too bulky. The creams also come with a protective lid.


Skin Doctor is really mild. Two pumps are enough. Too much and you'll have a hard time rinsing your face.


Blemish Doctor is a little too small for a toner recommended to be used day and night. And it does quite sting.


I love Doctor Blur's texture. It looks like it's been whipped a hundred times. My friend thought it was dalgona coffee at first glance! It goes on your face like a CC cream. Smooth it outwards and you'll get an even-toned skin. I showed it to a friend who thought it was from a rejuvenating set. It got me worried for a while but thankfully it is not! Fresh Formula clarified it on an IG post.


Doctor Clear is recommended as a spot treatment or as an evening cream for the entire face. Since I've been breaking out, I used it on my entire face. It is a little sticky. I need to wear a hairband to sleep to keep my hair sticking to my face.


Listed below is my progression of using the products one-by-one and which products were not part of the series.


WEEK 1


DAY

NIGHT


WEEK 2


DAY

  1. Fresh Formula Skin Doctor (Facial Wash)

  2. Fresh Formula Blemish Control (Toner)

  3. Luxe Organix 99.85% Aloe Vera Soothing Gel or Luxe Organix All Day Moisture & Whitening Cream 97% Aloe Vera With Vitamin C

NIGHT

  1. Fresh Formula Skin Doctor (Facial Wash)

  2. Fresh Formula Blemish Control (Toner)

  3. Luxe Organix 99.85% Aloe Vera Soothing Gel or Luxe Organix All Day Moisture & Whitening Cream 97% Aloe Vera With Vitamin C


WEEK 3


DAY

  1. Fresh Formula Skin Doctor (Facial Wash)

  2. Fresh Formula Blemish Control (Toner)

  3. Fresh Formula Doctor Blur (Day Cream)

NIGHT

  1. Fresh Formula Skin Doctor (Facial Wash)

  2. Fresh Formula Blemish Control (Toner)

  3. Luxe Organix 99.85% Aloe Vera Soothing Gel or Luxe Organix All Day Moisture & Whitening Cream 97% Aloe Vera With Vitamin C


WEEK 4


By Week 4, I have successfully transitioned my skincare regimen to the Fresh Formula Blemish Rescue Series. Although, I have experienced drying around my nose area which is kind of disappointing.


DAY

  1. Fresh Formula Skin Doctor (Facial Wash)

  2. Fresh Formula Blemish Control (Toner)

  3. Fresh Formula Doctor Blur (Day Cream)


NIGHT

  1. Fresh Formula Skin Doctor (Facial Wash)

  2. Fresh Formula Blemish Control (Toner)

  3. Fresh Formula Doctor Clear (Night Cream)




WEEK 5 & 6


Doctor Blur has SPF 45 but I decided to use another sunscreen before it. And because of the drying around my nose, I decided to use another moisturizer before Doctor Blur.




DAY

  1. Fresh Formula Skin Doctor (Facial Wash)

  2. Fresh Formula Blemish Control (Toner) - My second bottle!

  3. Luxe Organix 99.85% Aloe Vera Soothing Gel or Luxe Organix All Day Moisture & Whitening Cream 97% Aloe Vera With Vitamin C

  4. Luxe Organix Aqua Daily Sunscreen

  5. Fresh Formula Doctor Blur (Only when going out)


NIGHT

  1. Fresh Formula Skin Doctor (Facial Wash)

  2. Fresh Formula Blemish Control (Toner)

  3. Fresh Formula Doctor Clear (Night Cream)




WEEK 7 - 11


I still feel drying stinging on my face. I decided to be easy on the toner. Instead of using it day and night, I resorted to only using it in the evening. During the day, I used the mild Luxe Organix Aloe Vera Toner.


DAY

  1. Fresh Formula Skin Doctor (Facial Wash)

  2. Luxe Organix Aloe Vera Toner

  3. Luxe Organix 99.85% Aloe Vera Soothing Gel or Luxe Organix All Day Moisture & Whitening Cream 97% Aloe Vera With Vitamin C

  4. Luxe Organix Aqua Daily Sunscreen

  5. Fresh Formula Doctor Blur (Only when going out)


NIGHT

  1. Fresh Formula Skin Doctor (Facial Wash)

  2. Fresh Formula Blemish Control (Toner)

  3. Fresh Formula Doctor Clear (Night Cream)





WEEK 1 VERSUS WEEK 11

As you can see, the acne on my chin sort of just transferred to my cheek. LOL.


PROS

  • I've had some 'maskne' breakouts around my cheek and chin area during Week 8-10, but it was managed and calmed down quickly.

  • Skin Doctor is a great facial wash. You only need one to two pumps every wash. It will last for more than two months!

  • Doctor Blur is a great base alone or under makeup. It has a slight coverage for scars and tones up your face.

  • The products are easily accessible online.

  • AND! They are really responsive on Facebook. Ask them questions and they'll be answered within the day or the next day. They even sent me an excel sheet of their products' ingredient list.


CONS

  • Skin Sensitivity: I felt stinging on my skin. Although it's subtle, I still felt irritated.

  • The dryness! The sides of my nose felt the dry impact and eventually darkened as I used the set.

  • The Blemish Doctor Toner is so small! I purchased two of these already, going three! One bottle lasts less than a month, especially if you're using it twice a day.

  • If you buy the products from the series individually, they are kind of expensive. It's better to get it as a set. The Blemish Doctor Toner alone is 299 pesos!



FINAL THOUGHTS


After using this and the Beauty Bakery one, I think my face has some issues with Witch Hazel. That could be the major culprit. So I am on 50/50 for this series. Not a lot of difference has happened. It has managed the breakouts but it hasn't completely cleared up my face.


Thumbs up for Skin Doctor and Doctor Blur. But I'm not so sure with Blemish Doctor and Doctor Clear. Anything that stings my face is giving me a hard time.


If you're someone with good tolerance with the actives in this series, good for you. Maybe you can give it a try. AND DON'T FORGET SUNSCREEN! But I do HIGHLY recommend giving a one-week interval for each product so your face can get used to it.


I do look forward to trying the Daily Grind LowPh duo. Maybe they could be my skin's potential best friend. 👀



'Til the next review,



Recent Posts

See All

© 2022 by Mikee Gungon. Proudly created with Wix.com.

bottom of page