top of page
  • Writer's pictureMikee Gungon

The Beauty Bakery Witch Hazel + Tea Tree Range | Mega Review

Updated: Mar 26, 2020

In late October of 2019, I was on the search for new skincare products to try. My current products at the time were running low and I needed replacements. Where else can I browse products easily?


ONLINE, OF COURSE!


So I headed on to BeautyMNL, a go-to site, to browse some products. Honestly, it can be overwhelming given the HUNDREDS of choices. Not only from BeautyMNL, but from random ads on Facebook and Instagram as well!


I decided to go with a local brand that is also organic and sort of.. delicious?


Say hello to The Beauty Bakery Witch Hazel + Tea Tree products!


Most of the products in this range are customer favorites at BeautyMNL. I have already tried the facial mist back in 2018 but I remember nothing that's notably impressive. So I had to try it again. Maybe since the label changed, the formula changed too.


Packaging Features: (1) Vacuum Sealed. (2) Expiration Date Sticker.

Like I said, I bought all of these from BeautyMNL. Check out the prices below:


PRICELIST:

  • WITCH HAZEL + TEA TREE GENTLE FACIAL WASH: Php 225.00

  • WITCH HAZEL CLARIFYING FACIAL SCRUB: Php 199.00

  • ANTI-ACNE MILD ASTRINGENT: Php 179.00

  • WITCH HAZEL + TEA TREE ANTIOXIDANT FACIAL CREAM: Php 320.00

  • CLARIFYING WITCH HAZEL FACIAL MIST: Php 189.00 (ON SALE) / Php 199.00 (REGULAR PRICE)


During the first few weeks, I was still using whatever was left from my Celeteque Oil Control Toner. (Use up all your products if they're doing pretty good. #QuitUnnecessaryHoarding2020!!!)


After I've emptied that bottle, I bought the Anti-Acne Mild Astringent (not included in the photo above) to add to this skincare regimen.


I also bought another bottle of the Clarifying Witch Hazel Facial Mist with that next BeautyMNL haul. (I think I loved it so much that overused it! 😄)


But I am missing one product: the Multipurpose Pimple Spot Treatment, because I was currently using one from Quick FX.


Let's see the breakdown of every product below.


 


WITCH HAZEL + TEA TREE GENTLE FACIAL WASH



I was really excited to try this facial wash! For the longest time, I was using the Kojie-san Skin Lightening Soap (since college days) and I wanted something new and gentle for my face.




CLAIMS

Start your skincare regimen with a clean canvas.


Contains 100% natural extracts to calm skin inflammations, heal pimple and acne wounds, and clean bad bacteria away from your pores. Create happy, healthy skin with this mild and gentle antioxidant face wash.


PACKAGING

This facial wash comes in a plastic pump bottle with a cap. (Try not to drop this in the shower because you'll easily see cracks on the pump and cap!) You will get 30ml of face wash per bottle.


INGREDIENTS

Witch Hazel Extract, Antibacterial Tea Tree Extract, Lemon Essence


HOW TO USE

Pump 1-2x on wet hands, rub on damp face and lather gently. Use day and night.


PROS

The pump makes every use calculated. It says two pumps per use but I use three. (Because I believe that the large circumference of my entire face wouldn't get rinsed with only two pumps.)


CONS

It's not foamy. It's a CON if you're into foamy face washes like me. But if you're not, this is a PRO for you. However, despite being less foamy, I find it hard to rinse off. I also emptied one bottle after only a month's use that's why I ended up getting my second bottle.



WITCH HAZEL CLARIFYING FACIAL SCRUB



Did someone say dessert? Because this is it! A sweet treat for your face. The Beauty Bakery's Witch Hazel Clarifying Scrub could be a part of your weekly self-care routine.



CLAIMS

(TOP TEXT)

A gentle skin whitening scrub + cleanser. Fights free radicals. Helps improve skin complexion.


(BOTTOM TEXT)

A Clarifying Facial Scrub made with Witch Hazel and Tea Tree Extract. Helps defend the skin from pimple-causing bacteria and exfoliates dead skin cell to reveal a brighter complexion. Soothes skin redness.


PACKAGING

This thick facial scrub is in an opaque white tub (no spatula / protective inner lid included). It weighs 100g per tub.


INGREDIENTS

Stearic Acid, Glyceryl Monostearate, Cetyl Alcohol, Aqua, Propylene Glycol, Hamamelis Virginiana (Witch Hazel) Extract, Melaleuca Alternifolia (Tea Tree) Extract, Citrus Medica Limonum, Polyethylene beads, Phenoxyethanol.


HOW TO USE

Rub in circular motion on damp skin. Rinse. Use 3x a week.


PROS

It smells refreshing. You only need a small amount to scrub your whole face. It also claims as a scrub/cleanser combo, so at times when I want to shorten my routine a bit, I'd skip the facial wash and use this immediately.


CONS

A little abrasive. I only use it once a week even if the directions said three times a week.



ANTI-ACNE MILD ASTRINGENT



Going back to what I said in my introduction, this product was an addition to my witch hazel + tea tree regimen. That's because I was not entirely sure if this is included in that range because there is no witch hazel or tea tree in the ingredients listed.


But I went ahead to get it after I emptied my Celeteque Oil Control Toner. I was hoping that this would make the effect faster and more noticeable.



CLAIMS

SAY GOODBYE TO ACNE, WHITEHEADS, BLACKHEADS AND PIMPLES!


This mild astringent is made with a sugarcane-derived skin antiseptic that efficiently cleanses the pores by removing dirt, excess sebum and debris. Also helps dry pimples and promotes skin healing.


PACKAGING

The clear astringent comes in a 300 ml plastic bottle with a sticker label.


INGREDIENTS

Distilled water, Sugarcane extract, Salicylic Acid, Vitamins C and E, Ginger Peach


HOW TO USE

Use sterile cotton to apply generously on face and neck. Every after cleansing. Can also be used to clean minor wounds on body.


PROS

A surprisingly big bottle of toner! Gets rid of remaining dirt and makeup residue.


CONS

BIG BOTTLE = BULKY ≠ TRAVEL-FRIENDLY

Good thing tiny spray bottles are available at specialty travel shops. I also felt quite a sting on my face after using this.



WITCH HAZEL + TEA TREE

ANTIOXIDANT FACIAL CREAM



This is one of the Beauty Bakery products that I most looked forward to! It has lemons all-over the design and who does not like anything with lemons?



CLAIMS

An Antioxidant Facial cream that helps protect the skin. Witch Hazel and Tea Tree extract helps heal pimples and acnes, promotes pore tightening and combats dirt and pollution. With UV protection to protect from the harmful rays.


PACKAGING

The product weighs 50g per opaque white plastic tub. Vacuum sealed with plastic. But no spatula and protected inner lid included. Sticker label.


INGREDIENTS

Stearic Acid, Glyceryl Monostearate, Cetyl Alcohol, Hamamelis Virginiana (Witch Hazel) Extract, Aqua, Propylene Glycol, Cyclomethicone, Melaleuca Alternifolia (Tea Tree) Extract, Citrus Medica Limonum (Lemon) Extract, Ethylhexyl Methoxycinnamate, Phenoxyethanol.


HOW TO USE

(TOP TEXT)

Use everyday after cleansing.


(BOTTOM TEXT)

Apply on cleansed face. Rub gently until absorbed. Use daily.


PROS

IT SMELLS SO GOOD! Seriously. It's lemon-y and light and refreshing. My expectation was satisfied! This also comes with SPF 35 so that's pretty awesome.


CONS

The texture is kind of thick and drags the skin when you spread it around your face. It also feels kind of heavy. Also, ready your own tiny plastic spatula if you're serious about a hygienic skincare routine.



CLARIFYING WITCH HAZEL FACIAL MIST


LEFT: 2019 packaging. RIGHT: 2018 packaging.

I have tried this facial mist before back in 2018 and I wasn't very impressed. I remember it was kind of sticky on the face. But, you have to forgive me because I did not know what facial mists were. So I used it as a toner!


So with its other siblings in the Witch Hazel + Tea Tree range, I gave it another try.



CLAIMS

A clarifying facial mist that helps calm troubled skin and eliminate bacteria. It has all the goodness your skin will love!


PACKAGING

The product comes in a frosted glass spray bottle with a cap and sticker label. I have the 85ml variant. You can also get this in 100ml.


INGREDIENTS

Water, Witch Hazel Extract, Tea Tree Extract, Lemon Extract


HOW TO USE

Mist onto face within an arm's length to freshen up the skin. Can be used before and after make-up. Product can be refrigerated to heighten the cooling sensation.


PROS

I use this before and after makeup and it makes my face glowy and fresh. It also has a nice, crisp scent of the Witch Hazel and Lemon extracts. Sometimes I put this in the fridge before using to give it an extra cooling effect as per their advice.


CONS

The glass bottle seems prone to breakage if you dropped it. I also wish it comes with a travel-friendly size. Although I remember BeautyMNL giving away mini versions of these before. Anyway, you can transfer the contents to a travel size spray bottle if you want to carry it around you.


 


THE WITCH HAZEL + TEA TREE EXPERIENCE


 

PART 1: WITH CELETEQUE OIL CONTROL TONER


This was my daily routine during the first month (November 2019):


  1. WITCH HAZEL + TEA TREE GENTLE FACIAL WASH (Day and night.)

  2. WITCH HAZEL CLARIFYING FACIAL SCRUB (Once a week.)

  3. **CELETEQUE OIL CONTROL TONER (Day and night.)

  4. WITCH HAZEL + TEA TREE ANTIOXIDANT FACIAL CREAM (Day and night.)

  5. CLARIFYING WITCH HAZEL FACIAL MIST (Before and after makeup.)


PART 2: WITH THE ANTI-ACNE MILD ASTRINGENT


This was my daily routine during the second month (December 2019):


  1. WITCH HAZEL + TEA TREE GENTLE FACIAL WASH (Day and night.)

  2. WITCH HAZEL CLARIFYING FACIAL SCRUB (Once a week.)

  3. **ANTI-ACNE MILD ASTRINGENT (Day and night.)

  4. WITCH HAZEL + TEA TREE ANTIOXIDANT FACIAL CREAM (Day and night.)

  5. CLARIFYING WITCH HAZEL FACIAL MIST (Before and after makeup.)


**The significant difference between the Celeteque Oil Control Toner and the Anti-Acne Mild Astringent is the feeling to the skin. Celeteque felt mild and the latter felt cold with a bit of sting.



HOW DID IT DO?


Click through the gallery to see the effects in the span of 8 weeks.



The first week is my skin on my normal bout with acne. Those minimal blemishes are what I wish to get rid of with the help of The Beauty Bakery products. I was really hopeful. The scent of the products absolutely lifts my mood that's why I always look forward to using them.


Although in the next few weeks, it seems that the promises of the witch hazel + tea tree oil regimen are not meeting my expectations. They calmed down by Week 4 and 5, but the blemishes came back. I had no time and energy to even take pictures by Week 6 and 7 so I just skipped to Week 8. This is the last week I used the products together. I've hit pan and emptied the facial wash and the facial cream. There are only a few more sprays left for the facial mist.


As of now, I'm only left with the facial scrub and the astringent. I still use the scrub once a week. But I stored away the remaining 1/4 of the astringent left in that giant bottle. Because recently, when the Taal Eruption happened, my face broke out badly probably because of the ashfall. It felt really sensitive to a lot of products so suddenly. I had no choice but to back away from the astringent. I re-purchased the Luxe Organix Aloe Vera Calming Toner to help bring back pH balance to my skin.


 

FINAL THOUGHTS



My combination skin did not welcome the products with open arms. I was expecting for a miracle (which is bad because miracles happen unexpectedly) from this regimen. Only after this experience, I've discovered that witch hazel could have negative effects on the skin. It can cause extra dryness which could have been the reason for the recurrent breakouts on my combination skin.


From this range, I would still recommend the facial mist. It gives a natural glow to your face and could set your makeup nicely, removing that flat and matte makeup look. I don't think that there's a difference between the 2018 and 2019 version. The listed ingredients are the same. But this time it did not disappoint me.


For the rest of the products, I've learned my lesson. Anyway, our skin heals. So I'm moving on and charging this to experience.



'Til the next review,



183 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

© 2022 by Mikee Gungon. Proudly created with Wix.com.

bottom of page