top of page
  • Writer's pictureMikee Gungon

Luxe Organix Aloe Vera Soothing Gel and Calming Toner | Review

Updated: Mar 26, 2020

Having oily and acne-prone skin can be troublesome. You tend to overdo it with the products you apply and try on your skin. Some days you just want to come back to zero. You just want something basic and organic for your skin.


I have ran out of moisturizers and I needed one ASAP because of an upcoming trip. So this one was recommended to me by my friend. The brand has been getting recognition lately and is being reviewed by different beauty influencers.


And now here's my take on the skincare brand #LuxeOrganix! Just by the name of the brand I already felt a luxurious skin treat coming my way.


For this review, I shall be reviewing the Luxe Organix 99.85% Aloe Vera Soothing Gel and the Luxe Organix 98% Aloe Vera Calming Toner. Both of these are exclusively available at all Watsons branches and website right here.


Let's get moisturized!



 


Luxe Organix 99.85% Aloe Vera Soothing Gel

99.85% of aloe vera goodness from Luxe Organix.

This aloe vera gel comes in a green plastic tub, very similar to the pioneers of this holy grail product. It also comes with a protective lid inside to prevent spilling. The product is 300ml for the price of Php 199.00. Much cheaper than the first brands to release this type of product. It has a clean aloe vera scent that is not too overpowering. I find it really pleasant and easy to work with. It also proudly displays "Made In Korea" on the packaging.



USES / BENEFITS

  • Instant moisturizing pack for dry skin

  • Body care for soft and moisturized skin

  • Hair treatment for dry hair

  • After shave cream

  • Nail care essence

  • Soothes sunburns


INGREDIENTS


Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, Water, Glycerin, Carbomer, Triethanolamine, Phenoxyethanol, Chlorphensin, PEG-60 Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Fragrance, Centella Asiatica Extract, Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavander) Flower/Leaf/Stem Extract, Rosmarinus Officinalis (Rosemary) Leaf Extract, Chamomila Recutita (Matricaria) Flower Extract, Salvia Officinalis (Sage) Leaf Extract, Sodium Hyaluronate




EFFECTS


I've been using this product for a month now. My first experience with this product was after an all-day trip at a lake. Despite using sunscreen, I've had mild sunburn on my face, particularly my forehead. Right after shower, I slathered this aloe vera gel not only on my face but on my entire body as well. I know my skin will need moisture after bathing all day in the lake.


Like any other gel, it was sticky and tacky, but it dries up nicely on the skin. Just massage it well and you're good to go.


The next day, my forehead was flaking off a little from the sunburn. So I just continued to use this on my face, morning and night. In just two days, the dryness from the sunburn was gone.


I also tried using this under makeup. Regularly, I put on a light foundation and I switch from using my hands, a sponge/beautyblender, and a foundation brush just to see what works well. Unfortunately, I am not very fond of having aloe vera gel under my makeup because it tends to dry up like a mask. The foundation does not cling well to my skin and looks patchy after I distribute it all over my face. That's why I only use this now as my night moisturizer.


This gel also works on the dry areas of your skin such as your elbows and ankles. It softens up nicely and is not tacky on the skin. It has that cooling effect as well.


PROS

  • Paraben-free.

  • Alcohol-free.

  • Affordable.

  • Works well with dry skin.

CONS

  • For those who are particular with their skincare hygiene, you will need to use your trusty mini spatula.

  • Cannot be used under makeup.


FINAL THOUGHTS


Will I repurchase this product? I'm not sure yet. I have not tried other aloe vera gels in the market. The Nature Republic Aloe Vera Gel still piques my interest. Most probably after I empty this tub I will get the Nature Republic just to appease my curiosity. And I might come back to this one just because it's much more affordable.


 

Luxe Organix 98% Aloe Vera Calming Toner

Slow down a busy day with the Luxe Organix 98% Aloe Vera Calming Toner.

There are dozens of toners out there to choose from. But I decided to partner up the aloe vera gel with this aloe vera toner. The Luxe Organix 98% Aloe Vera Calming Toner costs Php 199.00 per 150ml bottle. And like the aloe vera gel, it is also "Made In Korea" and exclusively imported and distributed by Genson Distribution Inc. It comes in a green plastic bottle with a screw cap. The manufacturing and expiry date are at the bottom of the bottle.



BENEFITS


"Gently tone and restore your skin with our alcohol-free, calming toner. This helps to remove excess dirt, traces of oil and makeup, correct and balance the pH of your skin. Perfect for all skin types."


HOW TO USE


"Apply to face with a cotton ball or pad, wiping in an outward direction every after cleansing. Follow with vitamin water or cream."


INGREDIENTS


Aloe Barbadensis Leaf juice, Water, 1,3-BG, Glycerin, Carbomer, Hexanediol, POE(60) Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Hyaluronic Acid, Aloe Fragrance, DPG-K2, Ethylhexylglycerin, Arginine



EFFECTS


While using this, I was experiencing breakouts because of my hormonal imbalance. Acne sprouted around my cheek and chin area. So after cleansing, I follow with this toner. It does not sting the skin at all. It really is alcohol-free which is a little unsettling for me. It felt like my face did not feel clean. But this is because I've been too used to applying extremely drying astringents and toners before. I did not even like Thayers Witch Hazel Toner because of this. I crave for that cold and stinging feel of astringents even though I know they're bad for the skin. And before this, I was using the Celeteque Oil Control Toner for a long time which also stings a little. So the switch to this calming toner was really surprising.


This toner had a slight difference with the scent in comparison with the aloe vera gel. There's a whiff of fragrance, but it's tolerable. I think it also helped in quickly healing my acne flare-ups which is pretty neat. Probably because of the hyaluronic acid in the product.


PROS

  • Alcohol-free.

  • Hypoallergenic.

  • Plenty of product for a good price.

CONS

  • Packaging is too big. Not travel-friendly.

FINAL THOUGHTS


This is a product worth buying. For a decent price you will get 150ml worth of toner. And this is exclusively sold at Watsons so you are sure of the quality of the product. I also noticed the packaging is not too different from the sketchy skincare products sold by the ever-growing "(_____)-so" brands in our malls which have a reputation of faking Korean products. I'd rather get this one than risking my skin with those, even if they are cheaper. I also want to stray away from toners with alcohol. I have to give up that habit!


 

This is it for my review of the #aloevera power duo of Luxe Organics! Let's not forget to thank mother nature for providing us with things for our health and beauty. So let's learn to take care of it! 🌍



'Til the next review,



10,771 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

© 2022 by Mikee Gungon. Proudly created with Wix.com.

bottom of page