top of page
  • Writer's pictureMikee Gungon

January-March 2020 Skincare Regimen Featuring The Body Shop Tea Tree Oil

Updated: Sep 7, 2020



We're only halfway into 2020 and it had us at wit's end already with all the catastrophe that's been going on. (Yes, Miss Rona, I am looking at you.) But let's dig in locally and take it back to the first month of the year.


It was a busy Sunday afternoon and there was I, duty officer of the day, walking around and observing my area. One minute later, the skies washed out the blue and replaced it with a giant cluster of gray clouds. The formation was almost just above us. My sister sent a photo from her area. It was massive from there. So I ran outside and just couldn't believe it. Something bad is really happening.



Initially I thought, "Is there a typhoon advisory today?" We checked online but there was none. Just a few minutes before 4:00 in the afternoon, the splatter of rain began. Or so I thought.


From the sky quickly came grayish grains of sand-like substance that stick to your clothes and covered the park's floors quickly. I grabbed an umbrella where you can hear the grains falling. I covered my nose with my handkerchief. It was LITERALLY a disaster in the region happening right before my own eyes. My heart only stopped the palpitations after I got home by ten in the evening after I've witnessed the roads, buildings, vehicles, AND PEOPLE all covered in ashfall.


The ashfall covered every inch of the ground you walk on.

The day after the eruption.

The day ended intensely and was written down in history as the Taal Volcano Eruption 2020, forty-three years after its last onslaught in the country.


Pre-coronavirus pandemic, we were all donning face masks, N95s, if you can afford one. It has been a staple for anyone going out for the next few weeks after the eruption due to the respiratory problems the ashfall can cause.


And behind the face mask, something else was erupting continuously, my poor face. As if I wasn't struggling enough with my acne, the ashfall definitely did something worse. I do not know if it's from the ashfall, the constant wearing of masks, the stress, the hormones, bad luck, or all of the above.


I was happy we needed to wear face masks everywhere even that contributed to the breakout. My current drugstore acne treatments were not doing anything at all. So I needed a STRONG product with promising offers. So I dived into The Body Shop Tea Tree Oil trend.


Small bottle, big promises.



 



THE ENTIRE SKINCARE ROUTINE

This is my entire January - March 2020 Skincare Regimen.

The steps:

  1. Wash face with my trusted kojie🔴san Skin Lightening Soap. I know this could help to quickly diminish the acne scars.

  2. Tone with Luxe Organix 98% Aloe Vera Calming Toner. To balance the kojic acid, I opted for this alcohol-free toner.

  3. Moisturize with Luxe Organix All Day Moisture & Whitening Cream 97% Aloe Vera With Vitamin C. I've read on the packaging it has whitening properties + Vitamin C that's why I went for this.

  4. And of course, treat the pesky breakout with The Body Shop Tea Tree Oil.


The kojie🔴san Skin Lightening Soap has been a personal hygiene staple at home. We've been using it as a face and body soap for years! It's definitely a tried and tested product for us. The Luxe Organix 98% Aloe Vera Calming Toner is a great discovery from 2019 together with the brand's own aloe vera gel. Then I ran out of the aloe vera gel and tried Luxe Organix All Day Moisture & Whitening Cream 97% Aloe Vera With Vitamin C. And finally, the star of this blog entry, The Body Shop Tea Tree Oil.


Now let's take a look at the products one by one.





Kojie-San Skin Lightening Soap


The Kojic Acid you've always trusted, the one prescribed by your dermatologist is now available in kojie🔴san Skin Lightening Soap. kojie🔴san contains high grade cosmetic all-natural Kojic Acid that helps prevent melanin production, making skin lighter and clearer. kojie🔴san Skin Lightening Soap is effective in diminishing dark spots, freckles and acne, stretch marks, and uneven skintone.


Kojic Acid was discovered in Japan. It is a by-product of Koji or Malted Rice used in the production of rice wine. In cosmetics, Kojic acid is popularly known for its remarkable effect and antioxidant properties.


HOW TO USE

For daily use on face and body. For optimum result, use kojie🔴san Body Lightening Lotion with SPF 25 after bathing.


INGREDIENTS

COCOS NUCIFERA (COCONUT) OIL, DE-IONIZED WATER, SODIUM HYDROXIDE, FRAGRANCE, KOJIC ACID, GLYCERIN, AQUA (AND) XANTHAN GUM (AND) CAPRYLYL GLYCOL (AND) GLUCOSE (AND) CHANDRUS CRISPUS (CARRAGEENAN) (AND) ETHYLHEXYLGLYCERINE, COCODIETHANOLAMIDE, MINERAL OIL, MELALEUCA ALTERNIFOLIA (TEA TREE) OIL, CI 15985, CI 19140, BHT


PRICE

Price starts from Php 50.00. Available at any supermarket, drugstore, and department store.











Luxe Organix

All Day Moisture & Whitening Cream

97% Aloe Vera With Vitamin C


Containing natural Aloe Vera essence, this cream Moisturizes skin intensely - for a fresh and moisturized appearance all day! It also contains Vitamin C to help keep skin radiant and bright. Ideal for day and night and can also be used as makeup base.


HOW TO USE

After cleansing regimen, apply a proper amount and evenly massage on the skin until completely absorbed.


INGREDIENTS

WATER, METHYLPROPANEDIOL, GLYCERIN, MINERAL OIL, CYCLOPENTASILOXANE, CAPRYLIC/CAPRIC TRIGLYCERIDE, DIMETHICONE, CETEARYL ALCOHOL, CYCLOHEXASILOXANE, POLYSORBATE 60, ALOE BARBADENSIS LEAF JUICE POWDER, GLYCERYL STEARATE, PEG-100 STEARATE, ASCORBIC ACID, BETAINE, PALMITIC ACID, STEARIC ACID, CENTELLA ASIATICA EXTRACT, ALLANTOIN, BUTYLENE GLYCOL, MADECASSOSIDE, LAURIC ACID, MYRISTIC ACID, PENTYLENE GLYCOL, 1,2-HEXANEDIOL, CARBOMER, ARGININE, CHLORPHENESIN, PHENOXYETHANOL, DISODIUM EDTA, FRAGRANCE.


PRICE

Php 219.00 per 50g jar. Available at any Watsons store and online.



The Body Shop Tea Tree Oil


SUITABLE FOR BLEMISHED SKIN

15% tea tree oil.

Purifying solution.



HOW TO USE

Apply sparingly to the skin up to 1-2 times a day.


INGREDIENTS

AQUA / WATER/ EAU, ALCOHOL DENAT., MELALEUCA ALTERNIFOLIA OIL / TEA TREE OIL, POLYSORBATE 60, CALOPHYLLUM INOPHYLLUM SEED OIL, LIMONEN, t-BUTYL ALCOHOL, LINALOOL, LEPTOSPERMUM PETERSONII OIL, CITRAL, CITRONELLOL, DENATONIUM BENZOATE, TOCOPHEROL.


PRICE

Got this on sale for Php 396.00 per 10ml bottle.

Regular price: Php 495.00.



HOW DID IT GO?


To see what my skin went through while on this routine, I recorded my selfies through the weeks. It is also a way for me to think positively that my skin has been healing and passed through the awful bout with acne.



It's been a tough welcome for 2020 for my self-confidence which dwindles up and down from time to time. But here I am showing you this to normalize imperfections. Because normal people have acne, pimple, pores, and other skin conditions. We can't all afford flawless celebrity skin! That's why there are bloggers like us who test every beauty product under the sun.



PROS

  • The Body Shop Tea Tree Oil was on sale at Php 396.00!

  • The entire routine is only four steps, very easy to do day and night.


CONS

  • The Body Shop Tea Tree Oil's original price for 10ml is Php 495.00!

  • There's mineral oil on the Luxe Organix cream so it was kinda heavy on my face.

  • Maybe the products haven't reached their full potential due to the circumstances: ashfall, face masks, stress, etc.


FINAL THOUGHTS


January-March 2020 was a wild ride. (And it just went even wilder from there, GLOBALLY.)


But I can say I've had a good experience with The Body Shop Tea Tree Oil. The stinging is awful but I know it's working. We need to get through the worst to see the light, don't we? It's a trend that proved its worth but you really need to be cautious with the usage. Ask the sales representatives of the stores to know more about the product.


Don't be like me who used THREE BOTTLES instead of using it for just THREE DAYS. I didn't even do a patch test. I just went on with it and hoped for the best. Sis is desperate!


Will I repurchase? Yes! I still get acne here and there and I sometimes miss the sting from the tea tree oil. But if you have sensitive skin, maybe skip this one for now.


What is your anti-acne skincare regimen? Let me know and I'll try some of your recommendations.



'Til the next review,



188 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

© 2022 by Mikee Gungon. Proudly created with Wix.com.

bottom of page