top of page
  • Writer's pictureMikee Gungon

Laneige Neo Cushion_Matte in 23N (Sand) | Review

Updated: Aug 22, 2021

Long time, no review! Sorry!


Here I am and I am back with a new favorite!


In the last quarter of 2020, I have noticed influencers promoting this product from Laneige. But the problem is, most of them are foreigners. It wasn't available in the Philippines -- yet!


It was so eye-catching that I clicked on the hashtags on Instagram and discovered that the neighboring countries have already been enjoying the Laneige Neo Matte and Neo Glow Cushion since the second quarter of 2020! What about us?!


I was itching to get one for myself so baaaaaad! Then, it suddenly launched here in the Philippines by November 2020.. at Php 2,000 per piece (plus refill)! I said, "Heck nah, what if doesn't work on me?" This is the first time I would try a cushion and I don't want to throw my money away just like that. Yo girl's got some bills to pay! So I looked for it somewhere else.


Before I bought the original size, I encouraged a friend to get a trial pack first for both of us. We're oily girls so we have trust issues with products promising a matte finish. The trial pack wasn't free though. It wasn't supposed to be for sale but we got it from Shopee. Hehe. It was worth the shot anyway. It came with a tiny version of the puff plus two shades: 21N and 23N. I use the Maybelline Fit Me Foundation in Classic Ivory 120 so I knew 21N was too pale for me.


Okay, so what so good about Laneige Neo Matte Cushion?


This cushion promises a lightweight feel with full coverage minus the oiliness.

First of all, look at that! It looks like an Airpods case! It is the smallest amongst the cushions offered by Laneige with 15g of product per piece. You can get this at any online store. Make sure to look thoroughly because I got this for only Php 890.00 (minus the refill) from a Shopee seller. 😉


It comes in a very pale, almost pastel, mint green packaging -- a nice counterpart to the light pink packaging of the Neo Cushion_Glow. This cushion also comes with a special kind of puff and a mirror.



FEATURES


LANEIGE NEO CUSHION_MATTE

SPF 42 PA++


MATTE-FINISH CUSHION FOUNDATION THAT PROVIDES A FLAWLESS COMPLEXION FOR 24 HOURS BY A SINGLE TOUCH


01 Full-coverage cushion foundation that offers resistance against heat and humidity

02 Comfort Matte Texture keeps the skin feeling comfortable without feeling dry

03 Perfect shades for your skintone


This cushion also boasts its blue light filter so it's perfect for the guys and gals who are constantly in front of monitors, computers, and mobile phones. It is also easy to refill with its one-touch spinning structure.


And why NEO?


New me

Elevate myself

Only me

Micro-cutting puff holds a sufficient amount of the formula to ensure coverage that's built up in a flawless thin layer.



Read the complete product features here:



DIRECTIONS

  1. Use after the sunscreen and/or makeup base step in your basic skincare routine.

  2. Take an adequate amount using the puff and gently dab across the face. You can build up the coverage by lightly dabbing it onto the skin again.

  3. If nothing comes out when you deeply press down the cushion sponge using your finger, it means that it is all used up and you should replace with a new refill.


INGREDIENTS


WATER / AQUA / EAU, TITANIUM DIOXIDE (CI 77891), CYCLOPENTASILOXANE, METHYL TRIMETHICONE, ETHYLHEXYL METHOXYCINNAMATE, CAPRYLYL METHICONE, POLYMETHYL METHACRYLATE, PEG-10 DIMETHICONE, PROPANEDIOL, CYCLOHEXASILOXANE, ZINC OXIDE (NANO), TRIMETHYLSILOXYSILICATE, TITANIUM DIOXIDE (NANO), NYLON-12, LAURYL PEG-9 POLYDIMETHYLSILOXYETHYL DIMETHICONE, HDI/TRIMETHYLOL HEXYLLACTONE CROSSPOLYMER, DISTEARDIMONIUM HECTORITE, IRON OXIDES (CI 77492), 1,2-HEXANEDIOL, ALUMINUM HYDROXIDE, SODIUM CHLORIDE, ACRYLATES/DIMETHICONE COPOLYMER, ISOPROPYL TITANIUM TRIISOSTEARATE, IRON OXIDES (CI 77491), ACRYLATES/ETHYLHEXYL ACRYLATE/DIMETHICONE METHACRYLATE COPOLYMER, FRAGRANCE / PARFUM, CAPRYLYL GLYCOL, BIS-PEG-15 DIMETHICONE/IPDI COPOLYMER, STEARIC ACID, PEG-2 SOYAMINE, ETHYLHEXYLGLYCERIN, DISODIUM EDTA, TRIETHOXYCAPRYLYLSILANE, SILICA, IRON OXIDES (CI 77499), CITRONELLOL, GERANIOL, LIMONENE, BHT, HYDROXYCITRONELLAL, TOCOPHEROL




HOW DID IT GO?


I like the coverage of Laneige Neo Cushion_Matte. It is not full coverage, but it gives my face a nice tone-up, an even skin tone, and a fresh glow. The first hour of wearing the cushion will maintain the soft, matte look. But onwards, you will notice a shine on areas where the light hits. I love it still because it gives me a healthy look.

It performs better than my Maybelline Fit Me Matte & Poreless Foundation which brings out the oil on my face the minute I step out of the house even with heavy baking and mattifying primers. With the Laneige Neo Cushion_Matte, you can wear it alone - no primers or mattifying sprays - and you'd still be oil-free for 4 hours.


Freshly applied, the cushion definitely does not transfer to your face mask. Although it is not 100% transfer-proof as promised by the brand. After a few hours of wearing the cushion, it will stick and noticeable on the inside of your mask.


If I have a long day ahead, I set the cushion with the Shiseido Medicated Baby Powder. Just very lightly or else I would look too pale.


PROS

  • Applaudable coverage, not exactly full, but your face will tone up and even out.

  • Affordable (if you know where to look.😉)

  • Compact and very stylish.

  • Doesn't rub off easily. Sticks well on your face for more than 4 hours.


CONS

  • It has a light scent which may be a problem for those with sensitivity with perfumed cosmetics.

  • Limited shade range.

  • I think I am almost running out of the product after 2 months. Lol.

  • It is not that great for midday touch-ups should you need to do so. It will be a little bit cakey on your fine lines and creases.



FINAL THOUGHTS



I would most definitely be stocking up on this! I cannot wait to try it during the summer season to test how it performs in the extra, extra humid weather here in the Philippines. It's great for a light make-up kind of day. I recommend this to all oily people like me. Try it this summer for your upcoming beach trips.



'Til the next review,


2,753 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

© 2022 by Mikee Gungon. Proudly created with Wix.com.

bottom of page