top of page
  • Writer's pictureMikee Gungon

January 2020 | Playlist of the Month

Updated: Mar 31, 2020



This is how the first month of 2020 went by so far:

  • Widespread bushfire season in Australia (since June 2019);

  • Jakarta flood which killed 66 people;

  • US and Iran attacking each other;

  • Ukrainian plane crash taking 176 lives;

  • Taal Volcano eruption rising to Alert Level 4;

  • Novel Coronavirus spreads worldwide from Wuhan, China;

  • And the tragic death of the basketball legend, Kobe Bryant, together with daughter Gianna Bryant, and several others while aboard a helicopter in Calabasas, California.

And that's only the tip of the iceberg.



Many thought that January felt like a whole year on its own. And the feeling is mutual.


I remember being exceedingly excited and recharged after the new year and new decade came in. My plans and goals were set up.


But despite the positive preparedness and mentality above, I still had my own share of rejections and disappointments. I wanted to fast forward to the good times and backtrack and correct whatever faults I did in the past. The thing is, that is not possible.



 


- Kobe Bryant


 

I never understood basketball and never been hooked in that entire culture. But basketball speaks the universality of HARDWORK and PERSEVERANCE. There was a time for me to absorb the negativity of this month and feel it in my skin and bones. Loathing was there. Looking for a decent explanation is in my thoughts. I let it consume me for about a day. I needed to feel the negativity so I can rise from it. Then, I tried my best to shake it off.


I understood what Kobe Bryant wants to say and I am taking his words by heart. It's just what I needed. I was close to throwing all the preparation I did for January. Glad I could still hang on. The reality does not give anything back, therefore, I should not sulk in the past.


So here's my list that helped me get through this rocky month. I've discovered new music so that's still a good thing to remember about the first month of the decade. This is always a part of what I look forward to every month. Good music is endless. New artists are born and discovered each day.


I also want to highlight The Black Eyed Peas' different version of their classic, #WHEREISTHELOVE ft. The World. There are some acoustic versions like "La La Lost You" by NIKI and "Runnin'" by Naughty Boy ft. Arrow Benjamin. Let me also introduce you to Summer Walker, an up-and-coming R&B artist who featured the R&B legend, Usher in "Come Thru", with some familiar melodies and lyrics you need to catch in the song. I have a penchant with unique artists who are unapologetically authentic with their craft. JP Cooper also released a new song, "In These Arms", (with the acoustic version, too, of course). Hurtful, pierces through the heart, but that's what makes it a great song.


JANUARY 2020 PLAYLIST


  1. SELFISH: 2020 - Savannah Cristina

  2. Self Control - Frank Ocean (Cover by RINI and Aldwin)

  3. Changes - Lauv

  4. #WHEREISTHELOVE - The Black Eyed Peas ft. The World

  5. Coke Studio Season 3: "Maikee's Letters" Cover by UDD

  6. La La Lost You (Live) - NIKI | Acoustic Sessions

  7. Huwag Kang Matakot - Reese Lansangan

  8. Wherever You Are - Kodaline

  9. Conversations in the Dark - John Legend

  10. Don't Start Now - Dua Lipa

  11. Runnin' (Lose It All) - Naughty Boy - Stripped Back Live Session ft. Arrow Benjamin

  12. In These Arms - JP Cooper

  13. In These Arms (Acoustic) - JP Cooper

  14. Summer Walker: NPR Music Tiny Desk Concert

  15. Come Thru (with Usher) - Summer Walker


Listen here and let's reset our focus again for the next month.




Happy listening,




 

SOURCE/S:


(1) Wikipedia. Portal:Current events/January 2020. Retrieved from https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Portal:Current_events/January_2020


(2) Schilken, C. (2020 January 27). Kobe Bryant: Here are some of the Mamba’s most memorable quotes. Retrieved from https://www.latimes.com/sports/lakers/story/2020-01-27/kobe-bryant-most-memorable-quotes

30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

© 2022 by Mikee Gungon. Proudly created with Wix.com.

bottom of page