top of page
  • Writer's pictureMikee Gungon

Innisfree Bija & Tea Tree Capsule Pack | Review

Updated: Sep 7, 2020



Your fellow acne-challenged girl is back! And she's here to review a clay mask!


Having this perpetually oily and blemish-ridden face made me lean more to chunky clay masks. Sheet masks, maybe once a month? It feels heavy! I can't take it.


And yes, I've also tried the skin-sucking Aztec Secret Indian Healing Clay Mask. But that's pretty expensive and my sister hates the smell of apple cider vinegar so I may not be grabbing a tub of that again in the future. And it hurts.


That was back in 2017 and until then I've been going back and forth different clay masks. One of these I found during my December skincare haul.


It's the Innisfree Bija & Tea Tree Capsule Pack!

End your busy day with a nice clay, wash-off mask from Innisfree.

This is a "stumbled upon" product for me. I was browsing in BeautyMNL looking for skincare gifts for my friends when I saw this capsule pack on sale.


Slap on "ON SALE" or "DISCOUNTED" sticker on a product and it will immediately get my attention. I just can't say no! Seeing this in the PURE PICK category of BeautyMNL just made me want it more. Plus the 122 five-star reviews!


REGULAR PRICE: Php 125.00

DISCOUNTED PRICE: Php 98.00



FEATURES


A rinse-off pack that soothes and moisturizes sensitive skin


Calms and relieves troubled, irritated pelts; stimulating texture helps treat troubled surfaces; formulated with 100ppm of bija oil and 300ppm of tea tree leaf oil; nourishes, moisturizes, and rejuvenates; leaves skin softer, smoother, and more comfortable


DIRECTIONS

After cleansing, apply the desired amount and gently massage onto the entire face.

Rinse with warm water after 10 minutes.



INGREDIENTS


WATER, DIPROPYLENE GLYCOL, KAOLIN, BENTONITE, BETAINE, ALCOHOL, TITANIUM DIOXIDE, ALGAE EXTRACT, ECLIPTA PROSTRATA LEAF EXTRACT, CENTELLA ASIATICA EXTRACT, FICUS CARICA (FIG) FRUIT EXTRACT, ULMUS DAVIDIANA ROOT EXTRACT, AMARANTHUS CAUDATUS SEED EXTRACT, CITRUS UNSHIU PEEL EXTRACT, CAMELLIA SINENSIS LEAF EXTRACT, ORCHID EXTRACT, CAMELLIA JAPONICA LEAF EXTRACT, OPUNTIA COCCINELLIFERA FRUIT EXTRACT, CITRUS MEDICA LIMONUM (LEMON) PEEL OIL, MELALEUCA ALTERNIFOLIA (TEA TREE) LEAF OIL, HYDROGENATED LECITHIN, SODIUM HYALURONATE, GLYCERIN, 1,2-HEXANEDIOL, CHROMIUM OXIDE GREENS, BUTYLENE GLYCOL, XANTHAN GUM, ETHYLHEXYLGLYCERIN, FRUCTOOLIGOSACCHARIDES, LECITHIN, BETA-GLUCAN, TORREYA NUCIFERA SEED OIL, HYDROLYZED HYALURONIC ACID, CERAMIDE NP, PHENOXYETHANOL, IRON OXIDES(CI77492), IRON OXIDES(CI77499)



HOW DID IT GO?




This is the clay mask I've used during the early days of the quarantine. For the first few weeks, we all felt like we all had the time in the world. So we did things can never do pre-pandemic days. I could only do masks may two or three times a month when I am not busy. Working weekends made it impossible! Now, I could regularly mask-away during Sunday nights.


At first, I thought the capsule pack is filled to the brim. But it's actually just a dollop. I was pretty bummed about that. Although the clay is pretty thick and not watery. You're sure it's potent with Bija and Tea Tree Extracts.


To be exact: 100ppm of bija oil and 300ppm of tea tree leaf oil.


*ppm=parts per million


I love this slight herby scent. It does not sting at all! It feels mild on the skin without the tugging and sucking. After washing it off, my skin feels great and smooth. Pretty bouncy, too! I follow it with aloe vera gel to balance out the dryness. Waking up in the morning is breezy because I do not feel the usual oily feeling on my face. So that's a plus! For my acne, they weren't gone miraculously, but it helped to dry them out and calm the redness.


Slice through it with a plastic spatula so you wouldn't take too much than you need. I parted it into six but I've used it more than that! Sometimes I just put the mask on freshly popped pimples. I tried this trick after seeing it on one Bretman The Science B*tch IG Story Episode. :)


Over time, you'd notice the clay mask hardening as it gets exposed in the air. I just spray some aloe vera face mist to soften it up. You can also do this to make the most out of the remaining mask on the sides of the capsule pack. Get your money's worth, girl!



PROS

  • Not irritating.

  • Easy to use.

  • Calms breakouts.

  • Nice herb-y scent.

  • Great size for travel.


CONS

  • It could still amp up its effects on acne.

  • I wish they filled the capsule up to the brim. It's a waste of plastic if I could only use it for approximately 6 times. There's potential for more product! Pretty please, Innisfree?



FINAL THOUGHTS


I liked this clay mask. If there is a bigger tub, I would get one. But re-purchasing a small plastic pack, maybe not. It's unfortunate because I really like the formula and I am interested in the other capsule pack variants. I'd still have to think hard about it.


But I do recommend this to anyone tired of dehydrating clay masks and would like to opt for a lighter one. It's great for anyone with sensitive skin, too!


Anyway, I'm still on the lookout for my HG clay mask. Got any recommendations? Leave a comment below!



'Til the next review,



165 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

© 2022 by Mikee Gungon. Proudly created with Wix.com.

bottom of page