top of page
  • Writer's pictureMikee Gungon

Fresh Hairlab Milk Silky Smooth Shampoo and Conditioner | Review

Updated: Mar 26, 2020



Our crowning glory is one of the things we should look after aside from our skin. It's part of what makes us feel beautiful and confident. And here in the Philippines, most women desire healthy, smooth, and straight hair. I am one of those women especially now I that I've managed to sport my curent waist-length hair.


As for hair products, I have my go-to's which are practically available at most places even at the neighboring sari-sari store. I was about to re-stock on my favorite hair products when I overheard a saleslady and a lady guard at Watsons talking about this particular item.


*NON-VERBATIM.


LADY GUARD:

"Maganda nga daw 'to. Mabango sa buhok." (They did say it's good. Makes you hair smell nice.)

SALESLADY:

"Kaya pala nagkaka-ubusan na ng stock." (So that's why we're running out of stocks.)

I looked over to which product their are pertaining to. There in the lady guard's hand is a bottle of the #FreshHairlab Milk Silky Smooth Shampoo. Two bottles left on the shelf. Beside it is the #FreshHairlab Milk Silky Smooth Conditioner. The only one left!


After the lady guard and saleslady ended their short conversation (a.k.a. "word of mouth marketing"), I immediately placed back my trusted hair products from where they were just minutes ago and grabbed one of each of the Fresh Hairlab products.


I have been seeing the raves and reviews of the Fresh Skinlab Jeju Aloe Ice Lotion all over Facebook. Even Anne Clutz called it "milagroso" (miraculous). So I thought, if their skincare range is hyped up, there must be something great with their haircare range, too. Right?


That's why after another monthly shopping at Watsons, I came home with these two pump bottles.

I got both at Php 143.00 per bottle for 480ml of product. It's also available online at Watsons if you've been given up hunting all their branches in the Philippines.


The product comes in a white plastic pump bottle. It's cute and minimalist featuring a tiny cow in front of the bottle. The Fresh Hairlab Milk Silky Smooth Shampoo is distributed by Healthy Innovation Distribution Inc. and is Made in PRC.



 


Fresh Hairlab Milk Silky Smooth Shampoo






PRODUCT CLAIMS


Gently cleanses without weighing hair down. It replenishes moisture to every hair strand. Every wash leaves hair feeling wonderfully light, super soft and smooth.


DIRECTIONS


Apply on hair and massage until foam is created. Rinse out thoroughly, repeat if necessary. Best used with Fresh Milk Silky Smooth conditioner.






INGREDIENTS (SHAMPOO)


AQUA, SODIUM LAURETH SULFATE, COCAMIDOPROPYL BETAINE, SODIUM CHLORIDE COCAMIDE DEA, GLYCERIN, DIMETHICONE, ACRYLATES COPOLYMER, POLYQUATERNIUM-7, GLYCOL DISTEARATE, DISTEARYL PHTHALIC ACID AMIDE, PARFUM, SODIUM STYRENE/ACRYLATES COPOLYMER, CETEARYL ALCOHOL, PEG-150 DISTEARATE, GUAR HYDROXYPROPYLTRIMONIUM CHLORIDE, MILK EXTRACT, PEG-14M, POLYQUATERNIUM-10, DISODIUM EDTA, METHYLCHLOROISOTHIAZOLINONE, METHYLISOTHIAZOLINONE


 


Fresh Hairlab Milk Silky Smooth Conditioner


PRODUCT CLAIMS


A daily smoothing conditioner that moisturizes and infuses vital nutrients to help repair dry, damaged hair. Every wash leaves hair satin-smooth and shining with vitality as it tames down frizz for wonderfully manageable hair. Suitable for all hair types


DIRECTIONS


Squeeze a generous amount into your palm and rub hands together to help distribute evenly on hair. Leave conditioner in for 2-3 minutes, then rinse thoroughly. Best used with Fresh Milk Silky Smooth shampoo.




INGREDIENTS (CONDITIONER)


AQUA, CETEARYL ALCOHOL, GLYCERIN, CETRIMONIUM CHLORIDE, BEHENTRIMONIUM CHLORIDE, DIMETHICONE, GLYCERYL STEARATE, PEG-100 STEARATE, PARFUM, POLYQUATERNIUM-7, GUAR HYDROXYPROPYLTRIMONIUM CHLORIDE, MILK EXTRACT, METHYLCHLOROISOTHIAZOLINONE, METHYLISOTHIAZOLINONE


 

Will these work "miracles" to my hair?

Normally, we use sachet shampoo and conditioner products at home. With sachets, you tend to have control over the usage of product instead of a pump bottle. There is a tendency to uncontrollably push out a little too much product than the normal amount. I tried these two in a pump bottle because I've been trying to lessen our use of sachets. If these products are great, then I can just refill it.


First impressions: The scent is more of vanilla than milk. Both are opaquely white. The shampoo is at the right consistency and the conditioner is much creamier as expected. One pump gives a 'center of the palm-size' amount. It's comparable to the contents of most single-use sachet packaging.


I was incredibly excited to try these because I rarely try new products on my hair. For the shampoo, considering I have waist-length and thick hair, I used two pumps of the product. But upon massaging the product unto my hair, I noticed it is not as sudsy as I would like it to be. I added another pump to feel foam on my head. And another pump to distribute the shampoo to the lower part of my locks.


I've rinsed the shampoo and felt squeaky-clean feel on my hair. For some, that's good. But for me it's a no-no. It's something I already know to become a problem had I not followed it with a conditioner. Once my hair air dries, it will be hard to comb through it and it will be frizzy all day. So I followed it immediately with the Fresh Hairlab Silky Smooth Conditioner.


Like the shampoo, I began with two pumps of product and massaged it unto my scalp. Honestly, I am aware that conditioner is supposed to be applied only at the ends of the hair. But I find my hair tangled and difficult to manage so I always apply conditioner from my roots to the ends. At this point, it wasn't surprising that two pumps weren't enough. So I added two more to make sure I've applied it all over my hair. I've rinsed it and felt no amazing effect. Nothing much that exceeded my expectations. It's a conditioner. And it did an okay job.


It's been a month since I've bought this duo. I've let everyone at home to use this and tell me what they think. We all thought the same thing. Since there's a lot of us using this, it lasted for only three weeks at most. Including mixing it with water to get the most out of the contents. I tried using them with other products just to see if the effect can be boosted. But they were consistent being 'just okay' products.


The Milk Duo.

PROS

  • Affordable.

  • Smells kinda good. Kinda.

  • Cute and reusable packaging.

  • Did their shampooing and conditioning jobs.


CONS

  • Lacks the milky feel and scent.

  • There's nothing really special.


FINAL THOUGHTS


I expected so much. And received the opposite. I am back to using my go-to hair products. Maybe no exploring the hair care section for the meantime. For me, stick to your trusted hair products for now, ladies and gents. But at the end of the day, it's up to you if you still want to try these products.


If you know some haircare products that walk the talk, let me know!



'Til the next review,

1,320 views0 comments

© 2022 by Mikee Gungon. Proudly created with Wix.com.

bottom of page